Homeward Bound

We are on our way home from a wonderful week at Taize, speeding through the beautiful French countryside on the very comfortable TGV (so much more spacious, both for luggage and seats, than the Eurostar. I maybe should rename this blog ‘In praise of train travel’!) This was the last view in Taize as we waited for the bus to take us to the train station in Macon.

It has been a very special week, to be back in Taize with Dave and no children or responsibilities. This summer we are, for the first time, having extended times for just the two of us and it is really lovely. Because of the boys special needs it has come to us later in life than many of our friends with children. As well as being good for us we are also so pleased to see both boys managing little snippets of independence.

It has, though, made both of us a little nostalgic during our week here. As we gathered for the beautiful evening prayers yesterday I remembered the times when Hannah was little and we had put her in her pyjamas before the prayers and vainly tried to get her to sleep in the pushchair on the walk from Olinda (the family area in Taize, which is a 10 minute walk away in the next village). I have so many special memories of bringing the family to this wonderful place, I do also remember, though, what a juggle it was to find times of stillness and prayer for ourselves in the midst of being mindful of the children. This week, with our children grownup, and the boys making steps towards independence, we had time just for ourselves.

The Saturday evening prayer, as the candle light spread across the church from the Easter candle and we sang together of Jesus resurrection, was so beautiful. It felt hard to leave and I sat long after the prayer had finished letting the songs wash over me. Taize has punctuated my life since I first came in my 20s and I am sure it will continue to do so. It also shifts and changes but at the heart is the prayer and the life of community.

I may be quiet for a while on the blog as I have two weeks mostly back in Milton Keynes when I will be working on writing the story of Church Without Walls (which, once finally finished, towards the end of my sabbatical in October, will be posted here). On Sunday 17th September I head off again on the two day train journey to start my week of walking the Camino de Santiago. I will be travelling as light as possible and will only post short reflections using my phone as I go. What a rich time of blessings this sabbatical is proving to be!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Homeward Bound

  1. Roseann OLeary says:

    Hi Ruth, thank you for my lovely postcard I thought I was the only person to send them so ot made my day to receive it. Jenny mentioned at quiet church yesterday she saw you and Dave and said how well you looked it was nice to hear that your doing well. Sounds like you have been busy and resting up. Miss you lots.
    Roseann & family xx

Leave a comment